The Only Cobbler Recipe You’ll Ever Need

IMG_0357

Easy Raspberry Cobbler

     This recipe was gifted to me from my awesome MIL when my hubby and I first moved out into the big scary world where I would be the one responsible for feeding her precious (though not so little anymore) boy.  It was handed down to her from Grandpa Ernie, and I cannot thank him enough for it!  My husband is even now, at this very moment sitting beside me raving about this cobbler.  Which is insanely simple, and can be made with just about any berry, or fruit you have on hand.  I tend to use blackberries, peaches or raspberries. And it NEVER fails me. I pull this one out whenever I have company I feel like impressing a bit, or when I want to spoil my darling hubby or kids.  So without further ado, here is The only cobbler recipe you’ll ever need.

IMG_0349First things first. 

You’ll need:

  • 4 cups or so of your chosen berry/fruit
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 4 tbsp butter (originally this was 6… but I cut back a bit)
  • 8×8 baking dish
  • Pam or butter (for greasing the pan)

Getting the ingredients out of the pantry is honestly the most difficult part of this recipe.  I’m really not kidding.

Preheat your oven to 375

First, rinse the berries and put them on a paper towel to dry off some of the water.  I usually use fresh berries, but if you’re using frozen I would make sure to thaw them out and remove the excess water first.  If you’ve been reading my other posts, you can probably guess that the only reason I know this is because I have, in fact, attempted to throw frozen berries into a pie before (not this recipe) and it ended up like soup.  The same will probably happen in this case if the ice isn’t removed before you throw it in the dish.

IMG_0350

IMG_0351 IMG_0354

     While your berries sit for a second, lightly grease your 8×8 dish.  Then place the berries in the bottom, and spread out evenly.  Sprinkle your tablespoon of lemon juice over the berries, and then grab a medium size bowl.  In your bowl, mix the 1 cup flour, 1 cup sugar and egg until it resembles a coarse meal.   Cover the berries with this mixture, and then melt your butter (I usually just scoop the butter into a coffee cup and microwave for around 30 seconds)  and drizzle that over the top of the dish.  Then bake for 35 minutes, or until light brown in color and bubbly.  Let stand for about 10 minutes and serve!  Ice cream is optional (but a REALLY GOOD option).

Thank me (but really Grandpa Ernie) later.

IMG_0357

Have you tried it?  Let me know how it worked for you!

Leave a Reply

