Vodka Sore Throat Soother

 Vodka Sore Throat Soother

IMG_0043

     So ladies and gents, I have managed to get myself a WICKED case of strep.  I’m on round 2 of antibiotics (uuuuugh) and still not seeing the end of the tunnel yet.  Go me!  At least I’m thorough about it.  Anyhow, my throat is starting to feel a little like someone is cutting me with a knife, and I can’t speak very well when I do manage to croak something out.  I’m a mother of two children under the age of 5, so this wont do.  So although I do like how my husbands’ phone “dings” whenever I text him something I need to say, (it makes me feel a little like Tinkerbell) I NEED THIS TO GO AWAY.

     I went digging on pinterest for something that would soothe my sore throat, and I found this gem over on yesterdayontuesday.com!  Its as simple as honey, lemon juice, and vodka!  Plus, if I tried it and it didn’t work, I could drink the vodka and feel better anyways.  Win.

So here’s what you need;

  • 1/4 cup lemon juice (which I managed to squeeze out of one good size lemon)
  • 2tbsp honey
  • 2tbsp vodka
  • A small container to store in

I also chose to add some cinnamon, because it makes it taste awesome and is said to be anti microbial/ anti inflammatory. 

IMG_0046Getting my lemon ready!

First, juice your lemon.  Pour this into your container jar (in my case a mason jar) and be sure to strain out the seeds.

IMG_0051

Then, add your two tablespoons each of honey and vodka, a few sprinkles of cinnamon, and close it up and give it a good shake.

IMG_0061How easy was that?

The dosage for this is supposed to be two tablespoons at a time.  In the course of two hours or so, I have finished the whole container…
Update: So I actually managed to get a full nights rest last night! Which is something, because I had been waking up with coughing fits and not able to get much rest for about a week! This morning, I woke up with only a slight soreness where my throat was the worst off, but fully able to speak and even sing a few tunes at the sink while washing dishes. I’m definitely keeping this recipe! It is a life saver!!

If you’ve tried it let me know how it worked for you!  And, if you have any other helpful remedies let me know!  Til next time!

Leave a Reply

