How to clean a Keurig!

IMG_0130

Hey everybody!  So, today I woke up wanting tea, went downstairs to prepare it and realized I hadn’t used the Keurig in months and should probably clean it.  Once upon a time, the Keurig and I were best buds and I visited it every day, but after having to redo my diet a bit, it sits in the corner and is only turned on every once in a while.  So, in an attempt to get her going again and NOT  get sick off of whatever has probably been growing in the water left in the tank, I cleaned my Keurig.  And now, I’m going to share how I did it with you!

IMG_0117

All you need is; 

  • Vinegar
  • Soap
  • A bottle brush or sponge
  • water
  • A
  • Mug to brew into

The process is also really very simple.  Pour about an inch of vinegar into your tank, and fill it up the rest of the way with water.  Let the machine draw in the water mixture and heat, and then turn off the “auto off” feature, so it will stay heated and you can let the warm vinegar/ water mix sit and decontaminate the inside of the Keurig for a while.  I set a timer for 30 mins, and then came back when it was done to finish the job.

IMG_0123I got filmy stuff out of mine!

The next step is to run the vinegar through the machine.  That’s right, brew vinegar water.  Make sure your k cup holder is empty though!  When this has run through, brew more water, until whats coming out no longer smells like vinegar (this would not be a very yummy thing to drink!)

IMG_0126

After that is taken care of, take the other removable parts off (tank, k cup holder, and the tray under where you put your mug)  wash them in warm soapy water, or run the dishwasher safe parts through the dishwasher.  I didn’t want to wait on my machine, so I hand washed them using a bottle brush to get in those crannies.  Be CAREFUL when you go to wash the inside of the k cup holder, there is still a needle in it!

Then put the parts back on, and you’re done!  Now, I’m going to go have my tea!

Leave a Reply

